Friday 9th December 2022 Font size:

New Appointments

Wednesday, July 11th, 2007

Following the appointment of Marius Kloppers as CEO, effective as of 1 October, BHP Billiton today announced its new senior management team, to be known as the Group Management Committee. Effective immediately, the Group Management Committee will comprise:
Chief Executive Officer, Chip Goodyear (to be succeeded by Marius Kloppers on 1 October);
Group Executive and Chief Executive Non-Ferrous (Marius Kloppers until 1 October);
Group Executive and Chief Executive Ferrous and Coal, Marcus Randolph;
Group Executive and Chief Executive Petroleum, J. Michael Yeager;
Group Executive and Chief Financial Officer, Alex Vanselow;
Group Executive and Chief People Officer, Karen Wood; and
Group Executive and Chief Commercial Officer, Alberto Calderon.
Commenting on the new team Mr Kloppers said “Renewal and diversity, within a carefully planned executive development framework, have been hallmarks of our successful executive succession plan. This latest round of appointments continues our executive succession program and reinforces the strength of our management team.”
As part of the new team, Mike Yeager and Alex Vanselow remain in their existing positions. Marcus Randolph (formerly Chief Organisation Development Officer) and Karen Wood (formerly Chief Governance Officer and Group Company Secretary) move to new roles. The role of Chief Executive Non-Ferrous will be occupied by Marius Kloppers until 1 October. His replacement will be announced in due course.
Alberto Calderon is a new member of the team. Prior to his appointment he served as President of the Diamonds and Specialty Products Customer Sector Group (CSG).
In addition to announcing the Group Management Committee, BHP Billiton announced other management changes. Graeme Hunt, currently President Aluminium, will assume the role of President of the newly created Uranium and Olympic Dam Development CSG. The existing Olympic Dam operation as well as the expansion project will be separated from the Base Metals CSG and operated under Mr Hunt’s leadership. The separation reflects the importance of both the asset and the expansion project in BHP Billiton’s project pipeline and is recognition of the growing market for uranium to help meet the world’s energy needs.
Nelson Silva will replace Mr Hunt as President Aluminium. Mr Silva joined BHP Billiton in February 2007 as President Strategy, Development and South American operations for the Aluminium CSG.
Jane McAloon, Company Secretary for BHP Billiton Limited will assume the role of Group Company Secretary.

< go back